Sidney High School Takes Top Honors at Western Region Envirothon Contest

Sidney High School Takes Top Honors at Western Region Envirothon Contest


Gordon Nebraska – A team from Sidney High School will represent the Panhandle for the Nebraska Envirothon Contest near Gering at the Wildcat Hills Nature Center Wednesday, April 26, 2017. The first place team was Sidney Team 2 comprised of Chantal Riggs, Mitchell Porter, Kollyn Weimer, William Castner and Lindsey Deaver earned the state berth with a score of 109 on Wednesday, February 1 at the contest held in Gordon. 30 students competed in the regional contest from six schools including Sidney, Gordon-Rushville, Creek Valley, Banner County, Garden County and Leyton.

On the way to the Western Region title, the top overall placing Sidney team tied with Banner County for the highest score on the Soils test. Second place overall in the Western Region was clenched by Sidney Team 1 competitors.

The Envirothon is open to all 9-12th grade students and encourages high school students to learn more about the natural environment. The contest challenges students’ knowledge on aquatics, forestry, wildlife, range, soils, land use and natural resource policy or issues and one special topic of national interest. Up to five-member teams compete in a setting where they learn that cooperation is needed to achieve success.

Each year, 7 regional Envirothon contests are coordinated across Nebraska by Nebraska’s Natural Resources Districts. The Western Region contest is hosted by the Upper Niobrara White NRD with assistance from partners. Historically, the Gordon contest is held at Gordon City Hall in conjunction with the District 12 Future Farmers of America (FFA) agriculture contest.

The winning team from each of 6 regions is invited to represent their region at the Nebraska State Envirothon Competition. An additional eight wildcard teams with the highest scores are also invited. The state champion then goes on to represent Nebraska at the National Envirothon contest which will be in Emmitsburg, Maryland July 26 through July 29, 2017. Members of the top ten teams from that event will be awarded National Scholarships that can be used toward a four year university, two year college or trade school.