Upper Niobrara White NRD Awards Noteworthy Conservationists

Upper Niobrara White NRD Awards Noteworthy Conservationists


CHADRON, Nebraska - Each year, the Upper Niobrara White Natural Resources District (UNWNRD) accepts nominations for individuals or groups who have shown exemplary work to protect our state’s natural resources in Northwest Nebraska.  Nominations are accepted from agencies and natural resources professionals as well as private citizens and nominees must be conducting their conservation efforts within the Upper Niobrara White District encompassing Dawes, Sheridan, Box Butte and Sioux Counties.

Multiple categories of natural resource conservation can be recognized including Tree Planting, Forest Management, Range Management, Soil Conservation, Outdoor Recreation, Wildlife Habitat, Water Conservation, and Natural Resources Education.  The UNWNRD Board of Directors will also entertain nominations in other categories as long as they fit into natural resources conservation.

The 2022 UNWNRD Conservation Award Winners are:

Conservation Award for Natural Resources Management 
Dennis & Geraldine Brott of Crawford, Nebraska
Nominated by: Vicky Stoll

Conservation Award for Wildlife Habitat
Jean Parker & Cross L Cattle Company of Gordon, Nebraska
Nominated by: Shelley Steffl of Nebraska Game & Parks

Conservation Award for Range Management
Gabe Nielsen of Gordon, Nebraska
Nominated by: Jessica Nielsen

Conservation Award for Tree Planting & Forest Management
Mike Raymer & Raymer Family of Hay Springs, Nebraska
Nominated by: Steve Sandberg, UNWNRD Director

Awards are typically presented at public events in order to appropriately honor and appreciate the work these conservationists are doing for Northwest Nebraska.  Nielsen, Parker, and Raymer were recognized at the Sheridan County Fair before the Rodeo and Brott was recognized at the UNWNRD Office. Congratulations to the 2022 UNWNRD Conservation Awards winners and thank you for your outstanding conservation efforts!

Nominations for 2023 will be accepted from Jan. 1, 2023 to June 1, 2023.  Please contact Kylen Armstrong at the Upper Niobrara White NRD at (308) 432-6190 or armstrong [at] for more information on Conservation Awards.