Sand Selected to Fill Sub-District 5 Vacancy

Sand Selected to Fill Sub-District 5 Vacancy


BEATRICE, Nebraska -- The Lower Big Blue NRD board of directors appointed Jason Sand of Beatrice as director of Sub-District 5 at the August meeting. He will complete the unexpired term of Ron Wiens who had served for 20 years in that position until his passing in June. This term will expire in January 2021. Jason has filed for the position for Nov. 3, 2020, General Election. There was one other applicant for the position, Brad Fritz of Beatrice.

Sub-District 5 includes most of the east and north part of the city of Beatrice. The 13 district directors determine programs and projects for flood control, groundwater quality, groundwater quantity, soil and water conservation, public recreation, tree planting, and fish and wildlife habitat. Lower Big Blue NRD directors include:

  • Ryan Birkett
  • Lawrence Gronewold
  • Darrell Rains
  • James Damrow
  • Doug Stokebrand
  • Larry Barta
  • Robert Lorenz
  • Rodney Skleba
  • Dean Roehr
  • Doug Pieper
  • Steven Kelley
  • Jason Pohlmann