Central Platte NRD to Elect Nominating Committee for Chair and Vice-Chair

Central Platte NRD to Elect Nominating Committee for Chair and Vice-Chair


GRAND ISLAND, Nebraska –  The Central Platte Natural Resources District’s Board of Directors will elect a three-member Board Nominating Committee at their monthly meeting to be held at 2 p.m. on Thursday, Nov. 17, 2022, at the CPNRD office located at 215 Kaufman Avenue in Grand Island, NE.

The Nominating Committee will make recommendations for board chairman and vice-chairman. Board officers may serve two, two-year terms. Chairman Mick Reynolds, Wood River, and Jerry Wiese, Grand Island have both served one term and are eligible for re-election.

-General Election  Central Platte NRD has 21 members on the board of directors who serve four-year terms, with two directors in each of the 10 sub-districts and one at-large director.  Directors in the same sub-district are elected in alternate election years. The following Board members will be on General Election ballots, however, none of the seats were opposed:

  • Subdistrict       Director                                                                                                                                                                        
  • Subdistrict 1    Brian Keiser, Gothenburg                                                                                                                                     
  • Subdistrict 2    Tom Downey, Lexington                                                                                                                                       
  • Subdistrict 3    Steve Sheen, Kearney                                                                                                                                            
  • Subdistrict 4    Ryan Kegley, Kearney (2-year term)
  • Subdistrict 4    Lon Bohn, Gibbon (4-Year term)                                                                                                                        
  • Subdistrict 5    Deb VanMatre, Gibbon                                                                                                                                         
  • Subdistrict 6    Jerry Milner, Grand Island                                                                                                                                    
  • Subdistrict 7    Ed Stoltenberg, Cairo                                                                                                                                              
  • Subdistrict 8    Alicia Haussler, Grand Island                                                                                                                               
  • Subdistrict 9    Ed Kyes, Central City                                                                                                                                               
  • Subdistrict 10  Chuck Maser, Grand Island
  • At-Large            Keith Ostermeier, Grand Island                                                                                                                         

-NARD By-Law Changes  The Board will consider action on revisions to the by-laws for the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts (NARD), NARD Foundation and NARD Risk Pool.

-Manager’s Report  Lyndon Vogt, General Manager, will report.

-Natural Resources Conservation Service  Joe Krolikowski, District Conservationist and Janelle Taubenheim, Resource Conservationist-Kearney Field Office, will report.

-Precision Conservation Program  Darren Cudaback, Precision Conservation Specialist, will report.

-Nebraska Association of Resources District Jim Bendfeldt, CPNRD Representative, will report.

-Nebraska Natural Resources Commission  Mick Reynolds, Middle Platte Basin Representative, will report.

-Cost-Share  Applications through the Nebraska Soil and Water Conservation and the Central Platte NRD cost-share programs will be considered.

-Upcoming Board Meetings  December 15, January 26, February 23